Sleep Cycles Explained: What Happens After You Close Your Eyes?

Sleep Cycle Guide

Shortly after you crawl into bed your body shifts into 5 different sleep cycles. During each cycle, your brain goes through different patterns that are important for your overall health.

According to Dr. Jeffrey Lliff, ” your brain is not simply asleep or awake; it is passing in and out of different sleep states.”

Below is the guide to the five different sleep cycles to help you get a better understanding of what happens after you fall asleep.

Learn More About Sleep Cycles

Stage 1

  • The shallowest stage of sleep
  • The phase between waking and sleeping
  • You may experience sudden muscle jerks or feeling of falling

Stage 2

  • Theta wave actively continues
  • Heart rate slows
  • Body temperature drops

Stages 3 & 4

  • Slow-wave sleep
  • Deep sleep stage
  • Body temperature drops
  • Blood pressure falls
  • Breathing slows
  • Body repairs muscles and tissues
  • Boosts immune function and energy stores

REM Sleep

  • Stages 1-4 are called non-rapid eye movement
  • Longest sleep stage
  • Takes 90 minutes to enter REM sleep and each stage lasts an hour
  • Heart rate and blood pressure increase
  • Breathing is faster and more shallow
  • Dreaming occurs

If something interferes with sleep, it can affect your sleep cycles. You will still go through the five cycles but in a shorter amount of time which doesn’t allow your body to reap all the benefits

Be sure to give your body enough time to move through the sleep stages for the sake of your health.

Learn More About Sleep Cycles

Contact Family Healthcare of Fairfax for More Information on Sleep Cycles

If you want to know more or if you are having irregular sleep patterns, Contact Family Healthcare of Fairfax today. Give us a call or email us to schedule an appointment today!